Warfare Incorporated :: View topic - Unit In Area Condition bug
Warfare Incorporated Forum Index
 FAQ   Search   Memberlist   Usergroups 
 Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in 
 
Unit In Area Condition bug

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Warfare Incorporated Forum Index -> Mission Authoring
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scottlu
WI Founder


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 1773

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:05 pm    Post subject: Unit In Area Condition bug Reply with quote

Girt found an interesting bug in the "Area Contains..." condition. The bug is in the game, I would like to fix it but I need to figure out if any of our shipping levels are dependent on it. Here is the bug:

If you have the condition "Area Contains..." to test for unit X, side 1 in the area, the game will consider the condition satisfied if you have the asked for unit (independent of side) and the asked for side (independent of unit).

_________________
Warfare Incorporated Development Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crakerz
Mega-Poster


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 353
Location: California Bay Area

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 12:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Unit In Area Condition bug Reply with quote

scottlu wrote:
Girt found an interesting bug in the "Area Contains..." condition.


Shocked Understatement of the month, IMHO Smile

It sure does explain a lot of weird things happening (like painful hair loss) that were driving me logically crazy (short drive though that is).

Nice find, Girt.

_________________
Why negotiate when you can just blow things up?
------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
scottlu
WI Founder


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 1773

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is fixed for next release. However we already have v1.0a out there containing the broken logic. So... we're going to require authored missions to require v1.0b, which will release at the same time as the editor. I will release v1.0b beta binaries with the next version of M which requires it. The bonus with this is that ARM users will be forced to run the ARM version (v1.0a doesn't enforce this).
_________________
Warfare Incorporated Development Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoLan
Very Active User


Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Posts: 183

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does v. 1.0b of the game also fix the "Ecom virus" - the problem with the game freezing at certain characters (my problem was with in stead of ') in Ecom messages?
_________________
--SoLan
Palm Tungsten|T3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scottlu
WI Founder


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 1773

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just fixed it, let me know if it is still a problem when with 1.0b (I'll release to this group tomorrow most likely). v1.0b is going to cook for awhile yet before releasing publicly.
_________________
Warfare Incorporated Development Team
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TankGirl
WI Forum Novice


Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Location: UC Berkley

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:26 pm    Post subject: Newbie Reply with quote

scottlu wrote:
I just fixed it, let me know if it is still a problem when with 1.0b (I'll release to this group tomorrow most likely). v1.0b is going to cook for awhile yet before releasing publicly.

So, should I, like, wait until then to start building ? Crying or Very sad Or will 1.0a levels work on 1.0b editor? Smile

_________________
"Feeling a little inadaquate, boys?" - Tank Girl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
crakerz
Mega-Poster


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 353
Location: California Bay Area

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Editor should have nothing to do with it. It's the game engine that has the actual logic (and the above mentioned bug), so you should be good to go, TankGirl!
_________________
Why negotiate when you can just blow things up?
------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Girt
Established Forum User


Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Posts: 96
Location: Co. Springs

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:38 pm    Post subject: re: Newbie Reply with quote

Crackerz, you forget your manners.

Welcome, Tank Girl!
Glad to have you with us.

_________________
Unit: Palm Tungsten T|X
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Warfare Incorporated Forum Index -> Mission Authoring All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group