Warfare Incorporated :: View topic - Unit Group Clarification
Warfare Incorporated Forum Index
 FAQ   Search   Memberlist   Usergroups 
 Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in 

Unit Group Clarification

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Warfare Incorporated Forum Index -> Mission Authoring
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Joshua
WI Forum Novice

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 9:17 am    Post subject: Unit Group Clarification Reply with quote

I am new to the beta testing group, and have only had the software "m" for a few days but feel that I have a good grasp, but there is one thing that I don't understand; Unit Groups. What is the purpose? What are spawning and building? How do you use "Repeat forever"? Are unit groups to control exhisting units? Or do they create their units? How do you do anything?!?!?!?

Oh my... so many questions.

crakerz
Mega-Poster

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:29 am    Post subject: Unit Groups Reply with quote

Yeah, it can be overwhelming!

Here is my view: Unit Groups are the only way to have the enemy build or spawn units. (If you use the Create Unit action in a trigger, it will automatically create a unit group.) A group can be just one unit, or many; one type or many. It is activated by the trigger action Create Unit Group.

Random Group: If checked, this puts the group in the Random pool. If you then use the trigger action "Create Random Group" it will pick a group (at random) from that pool.

Create at level load: If checked, the group is created or spawned automatically when the level loads. No trigger action is necessary.

Recreate if destroyed: Once the group is created, it will respawn or build if completely destroyed. This is useful for rebuilding towers that are destroyed.

Spawn, don't build: The diff is listed below: